Together with Papillion La Vista Community Schools, the Papillion-La Vista Schools Foundation works to recognize those staff members who go above and beyond through an annual awards ceremony. Named the Greatness Award (formerly Aplus Award), the awards recognize staff in five categories: Classified, Rookie of the Year, Elementary Teacher or Specialist, Secondary Teacher or Specialist, and Foundation Staff. 

This year, the award ceremony looked different due to restrictions on large gatherings. With a virtual twist, a small team that included  PLCS Superintendent Dr. Andy Rikli, Assistant Superintendent of Business Services Doug Lewis, Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum Shureen Seery, Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources Dr. Kati Settles, and Executive Director of the Foundation John Erickson, surprised each recipient with the help of their co-workers and building principals with a banner announcing the category recipients to kick of the 2020-2021 school year. 

2020 Greatness Award Receipents: 
Secondary Teacher/Specialist: Cory Clemenger, Papillion La Vista High School
Elementary Teacher/Specialist: Dawn Butterfield, Bell Elementary 
Classified Employee: Debbie Portofee, Liberty Middle School
Papillion-La Vista Schools Foundation Employee: Joslyn Bunger, Kids Club Director at G. Stanley Hall
Rookie of the Year: Cody Redford, La Vista Middle School

The Foundation is proud to fund the Greatness Awards each year and partner with the District to celebrate the outstanding individuals that contribute to continuing educational excellence in Papillion La Vista Community Schools. 

Click here for the 2021 Greatness Award Nomination Form.


Foundation Alumni Directory Project

The Papillion La Vista Schools Foundation is teaming up with Publishing Concepts Inc. (PCI) to produce an updated Alumni Directory. This official campaign begins Friday, August 2, 2019.

Read More