Trumble Park Teacher Grant

The Papillion-La Vista Schools Foundation funded more than $37,000 in grants for Papillion La Vista Community Schools educators in the first round of funding for 2016. These grants educators to go beyond their classroom or department budget to provide outstanding opportunities for students that would otherwise not be possible.

The Foundation awards grants twice a year to encourage unique and innovative ideas that enhance the educational experience of students. Goals of the grants program include increasing student learning, building connections with families and the community, improving students’ academic performance and social behavior, inspiring innovative teaching and learning, developing a collaborative teacher learning community, and serving as a pilot for possible district-wide implementation

“Papillion La Vista educators have the best ideas to take their classroom instruction to the next level.” says John Erickson, Executive Director of the Papillion-La Vista Schools Foundation. “The Papillion-La Vista Schools Foundation provides each each year to allow those outstanding ideas to become reality. Awarding the grants is great, but hearing about the impact these projects have on students is the best.”

Spring 2016 grant recipients, titles, and projects are as follows:

  • Karri Horton, “Math Tool Kits,” for more productive and efficient math instruction and practice in Kindergarten classrooms at five Papillion La Vista elementary schools.
  • Pamala Lowndes and Lisa Wood, “5 Weeks of Summer School Enrichment,” for activities and visitors that increase student engagement in the Papillion La Vista Community Schools reading-focused elementary summer school program.
  • Garrett O'Dell, “One School One Book,” to unite families and the school through a reading project that builds a love of reading.
  • Dawn Spurck, “Author in Residence,” to enhance reading and writing curriculum all Papillion La Vista elementary schools with the help of a professional author.

Recipients were presented their awards at their respective schools. The next deadline for grant submission is September 30. Educators can download grant applications from, or contact the Foundation office for more information.

Author in Residence Grant

G. Stanley Hall Teacher Grant

La Vista West Teacher Grant

Prairie Queen Teacher Grant

Fall 2017 Teacher Grants

Awarding grants to teachers is one of our favorite activities at the Papillion-La Vista Schools Foundation! Here are a few photos as we begin to present our Fall 2017 Teacher Grants.

Read More

Midlands Community Foundation Supports STEM Programming

The Midlands Community Foundation recently awarded the Papillion-La Vista Schools Foundation a grant to support middle school STEM programming.

Read More

2017 Legendary Educator Hall of Fame: Harlan Cook

Learn more about one of our 2017 Legendary Educator Hall of Fame award recipients, Harlan Cook.

Read More