Row 1, Left to Right Melinda Ehlers – LMS; Amy Simodynes – PVH; Miranda Heitmann – PLSHS; Karen and Bob Fase; Lisa LaViolette – IDEAL; Ronda Oaks – HH; Kim Norblade – TH
Row 2, Left to Right, Bruce Nissan – LVMS; Amanda Weddel – BE; Garrett O’Dell – GSH; Jackie Torczon – GH; Emily Schmuecker – RS; Janet Pogue – TP; Gretchen Kalkowski – AG; Ellen Buglewicz – CH; Dr. Andrew Rikli – Superintendent PLCS; Jennifer Logan – PA; Pamela Mateo-Ramirez – PMS; Courtney Burk – WC; Emma Bartek – LVW; Jennifer Palomacki – PLHS; Carla Heumann – PO; John Erickson – Executive Dir. Papillion-La Vista Schools Foundation; not pictured Elizabeth Saeger - PQ


Recognizing that teachers are the heart and backbone of the tradition of educational excellence in Papillion La Vista Community Schools, Bob and Karen Fase want to honor the individuals who have dedicated their lives to preparing students to reach their full potential. The Fases have experienced and witnessed the excellence of educators first hand. Bob is a Hall of Fame Distinguished Alum himself, and the couple have three children who are Papillion La Vista graduates.

The Fase Family Fund for Educator Excellence honors outstanding teachers while providing opportunities for development. Support from the Fase Family Fund for Educator Excellence is divided into three areas: Educator Recognition to give teachers well-deserved praise, Classroom Support to provide for those expected and unexpected needs for a first-class experience for students, and Continued Education to ensure teachers who are interested in expanding their knowledge have the resources to do so. "You can’t have good output if you don’t have good input and the teachers are the input," said Karen Fase.

The Educator Recognition awards are presented annually to educators at each District school who go above and beyond each day for students. In recognition of their work and support their classroom efforts, award recipients received a $100 for use in their classroom. These educators selected by school and District staff.   

On Friday, September 15, the first Educator Recognition awards were presented. Bob and Karen Fase, along with Superintendent Dr. Andy Rikli, Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources Dr. Renee Hyde, Foundation Executive Director John Erickson, and numerous friends of the Fase family, District staff, and Foundation Board members will recognize the following educators:

Emma Bartek,
La Vista West Elementary
Lisa LaViolette,
Jennifer Palomacki,
Papillion La Vista High School
Ellen Buglewicz,
Carriage Hill Elementary
Jennifer Logan,
Patriot Elementary
Janet Pogue,
Trumble Park Elementary
Courtney Burk,
Walnut Creek Elementary
Pamela Mateo-Ramirez,
Papillion Middle School
Elizabeth Saeger,
Prairie Queen Elementary
Melinda Ehlers,
Liberty Middle School
Bruce Nissen,
La Vista Middle School
Emily Schmuecker,
Rumsey Station Elementary
Miranda Heitmann,
Papillion La Vista South High School
Kim Norblade,
Tara Heights Elementary
Amy Simodynes,
Parkview Heights Elementary
Carla Heumann,
Portal Elementary
Ronda Oaks,
Hickory Hill Elementary
Jackie Torczon,
Golden Hills Elementary
Gretchen Kalkowski,
Anderson Grove Elementary
Garrett  O'Dell,
G. Stanley Hall Elementary
Amanda Weddel,
Bell Elementary

Bob and Karen Fase welcome you to join them in recognizing educators with a gift to the Fase Family Fund for Educator Excellence. Visit the Foundation donation page to make a contribution to support educators.

Full STEAM Ahead at Patriot Elementary

Sixth grade students at Patriot Elementary had a blast participating in the pilot STEAM Enrichment Day. This cross-curriculum day of learning was a celebration of science, technology, engineering, arts, and math. All projects are hands-on, giving students the chance to explore, problem solve, and flex their creativity.

Read More

Giving Tuesday

With support from alumni, parents, friends, and community, the Papillion-La Vista Schools Foundation helps provide outstanding opportunities to students and educators in Papillion La Vista Community Schools. Consider a gift to your favorite program this holiday season.

Read More

Thanksgiving Hours 2017

Kids Club out-of-school day sites will be open November 22, 6:30 AM - 6:00 PM for pre-registered families. All sites and the Foundation office will be closed November 23-24 as we enjoy the Thanksgiving holiday.

Read More