3/9/2015 3:21 PM

Matthew Meyer Teacher Grant

The Foundation awards grants twice a year to encourage unique and innovative ideas that enhance the learning experience of students in the district. Goals of the grants program include increasing student learning, building connections with families and the community, improving students’ academic performance and social behavior, inspiring innovative teaching and learning, developing a collaborative teacher learning community, and serving as a pilot for possible District-wide implementation.

“Awarding grants to teachers is one of the most rewarding things we do,” says John Erickson, Executive Director of the Papillion-La Vista Schools Foundation. “Educators in the Papillion-La Vista School District are repeatedly coming up with exciting, innovative ideas, and we are pleased to support their dedication to education.”

Spring 2015 grant recipients, titles, and projects are as follows:

  • Matthew Meyer, “Audio Recording in Writing and Reading” for students at Anderson Grove Elementary to grow their writing and reading skills by recording and listening to their own voice.
  • Dawn Spurck, “Author in Residence” to enhance reading and writing curriculum all Papillion-La Vista elementary schools.
  • Antony Ritton, “Clickers for Math Formation and Summative Assessment” to provide students technology for further engagement in math classes at La Vista Junior High.
  • Tiffani Bottjen, “Connecting Preschoolers to Curriculum,” at Papillion-La Vista Early Childhood Center, Walnut Creek, La Vista West, G. Stanley Hall, and Golden Hills.
  • Kristy Feden, “Early Connections: Preparing Children and Families for Kindergarten in PLSD” for all elementary schools.
  • Linda Poole and Jill Christian, “Engaging & Excelling Activities” for engaging STEM activities for third grade students at Prairie Queen and Portal Elementary Schools.
  • Molly Grasso, “LED It Be” for professional quality LED signage used during theatrical productions at Papillion-La Vista High School.
  • Jeff Nienhueser, “Flying Effects – Broadway Musical Mary Poppins,” to train students on the art of flying actors to portray Mary and Burt in the classic musical.
  • Annette Eyman, “Parent Training Series” for the District to hope workshops for parents on topics including social media and technology.
  • Dana Janssen, “Update STEM Academy Facilities,” to create innovative classrooms up to STEM industry standards at Papillion-La Vista and Papillion-La Vista South High Schools.

Recipients were presented their awards at their respective schools. The next grant application deadline is October 2, 2015. Educators can learn more and download their grant application today.

Fase Family Recognizes Papillion La Vista Educators

Recognizing that teachers are the heart and backbone of the tradition of educational excellence in Papillion La Vista Community Schools, Bob and Karen Fase honor the individuals who have dedicated their lives to preparing students to reach their full potential. The first Fase Family Fund for Educator Excellence awards were given for Educator Recognition.

Read More

2017 Legendary Educator Hall of Fame: Janey Sommers

Learn more about one of our 2017 Legendary Educator Hall of Fame award recipients, Janey Sommers.

Read More

2017 Legendary Educator Hall of Fame: Harlan Cook

Learn more about one of our 2017 Legendary Educator Hall of Fame award recipients, Harlan Cook.

Read More